• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Kombucha

effingcustie

Bluelighter
I recently started brewing kombucha and wondered if anyone on BL does it too. I've only gone through a few batches, started using a recipe from "Nourishing Traditions," but now am beginning to experiment a little to get it how I like it.

Any other brewers? Drinkers? Tips for brewing? Experience with the health benefits?

I made a small batch a year ago, which tasted great. I then made a larger batch (by around 15x), but fucked up on the recipe calculation and it was undrinkably sweet. But in the hopes of salvaging it I kept the mother lying around, as well as the bottles.

About 4 months later I looked in at the container containing the mother, and it just looked scary. I didn't even open it, just chucked it. One of these days I should just throw out the 40 or so bottles that I still have sitting in my parents' basement, since they're probably toxic to drink by now. Meh.

I might give it another try, but to be honest it had a lot more sugar than I'd like, even in the batch that I made properly.

I'm not sure but I think a lot of the sugar is consumed by the culture and doesn't end up in the final product.. though I'm sure theres definitely still some.

I drink a few kombucha's a week mainly for it's alkalizing effects. After i drink one i feel a greater sense of well-being and am able to channel higher energies into my cells more efficiently.

I'm a huge fan of mushrooms as they tune up my body in ways that allow me to connect to my higher self more easily.

eat yo mushrooms =D

Custie-- nah, I added WAY too much in the bad batch. It was fully brewed, nice and tart, but still sickly, syrupy sweet. Definitely fucked it up; even as I was making it I thought that I was adding way too much sugar.